logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Annual Meetings
Welcome to the Division of Plasma Physics Home Page.

DPP was established in 1959. The first elected Chair was Melvin B. Gottlieb, Princeton University. Each year since 1975 the James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics (est. 1975) is presented at the Annual Meeting, along with the John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research (est. 1981 as the Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research), and the Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in Plasma Physics Award (est. 1985 as the Simon Ramo Award). The Nicholson Medal for Humanitarian Service was established in 1994 by DPP and the Forum on Physics and Society, and is presented at an APS meeting annually.

The Plasma Universe Cover plasma state of matter
The Pervasive Plasma State
(James Glanz)
The Plasma Universe
(Curt Suplee)