logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Annual Meetings
Appointed Committee 2019

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Portland, Oregon Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
Nominating Committee
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics
Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research
Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)
Landau-Spitzer Award

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Fort Lauderdale, Florida Annual Meeting

Edward Thomas

Auburn University

etjr@auburn.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

DPP Administrator

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Elizabeth Merritt, Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

emerritt@lanl.gov

Magus Haw, Vice Chair

NASA Ames Research Center

magus.haw@nasa.gov

Eve Stenson, Past Chair

Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Germany

evs@ipp.mpg.de

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Stephanie Hansen, Chair

Sandia National Laboratories

sbhanse@sandia.gov

Saskia Mordijck, Vice Chair

College of William & Mary

smordijck@wm.edu

Lorin Matthews, Past Chair

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Félicie Albert

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

albert6@llnl.gov

Luis Delgado-Aparicio

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ldelgado@pppl.gov

Nathaniel Ferraro

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

nferraro@pppl.gov

Maria Gatu Johnson

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

gatu@psfc.mit.edu

Carolyn Kuranz

University of Michigan

ckuranz@umich.edu

Elizabeth Merritt

Los Alamos National Laboratory

emerritt@lanl.gov

Raspberry Simpson

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

razz@psfc.mit.edu

Jeremiah Williams

Wittenberg University

jwilliams@wittenberg.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Ami Dubois, Chair

Tri-Alpha Energy

amidubois25@gmail.com

NAME, Vice Chair

AFFILIATION

EMAIL

Paul Cassak, Past Chair

West Virginia University

paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu

Ellen Zweibel, Ex Officio

University of Wisconsin

zweibel@astro.wisc.edu

John Canik

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

canikjm@ornl.gov

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

David Schnaffner

Bryn Mawr College

dschaffner@brynmawr.edu

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Michael Brown, Chair

Swarthmore College

doc@swarthmore.edu

Scott Baalrud

University of Iowa

scott-baalrud@uiowa.edu

Cary Forest

University of Wisconsin

cary.forest@wisc.edu

David Gates

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

dgates@pppl.gov

Cameron Geddes

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

cgrgeddes@lbl.gov

Hui Li

Los Alamos National Laboratory

hli@lanl.gov

Tammy Ma

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

ma8@llnl.gov

Elizabeth Merritt

Los Alamos National Laboratory

emerritt@lanl.gov

Auna Moser

General Atomics

auna.moser@gmail.com

Donald Spong

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

spongda@ornl.gov

Edward Thomas

Auburn University

etjr@physics.auburn.edu

Back to Top

Publication Committee

Steven Sabbagh, Chair

Columbia University/PPPL

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Julian Schulze, Vice Chair

Ruhr University Bochum, Germany

schulze@aept.rub.de

Peter Gary, Past Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

pgary@lanl.gov

Li-Jen Chen

University of New Hampshire

lijen@mailaps.org

Greg Hammett

Princeton University

hammett@princeton.edu

John Mandrekas

U.S. Department of Energy

john.mandrekas@science.doe.gov

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Back to Top

Education and Outreach Committee

Arturo Dominguez, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

arturod@pppl.gov

Steve Allen

LLNL/General Atomics

allens@fusion.gat.com

Cami Collins

University of California, Irvine

collinscs@fusion.gat.com

Theodore Golfinopoulos

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

golfit@mit.edu

Shannon Greco

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

sgreco@pppl.gov

Rick Lee

General Atomics

rick.lee@gat.com

Tammy Ma

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

ma8@llnl.gov

Rebecca Thompson

American Physical Society

sciencegirl01@gmail.com

Jeremiah Williams

Wittenberg University

jwilliams@wittenberg.edu

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Warren Mori, Representative

University of California, Los Angeles

mori@physics.ucla.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Tobin Munsat, Chair

University of Colorado

tobin.munsat@colorado.edu

NAME, Vice Chair

AFFILIATION

EMAIL

Troy Carter

University of California, Los Angeles

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

NAME

AFFILIATION

EMAIL

NAME (appointed by APS)

AFFILIATION

EMAIL

Back to Top

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

James Drake, Chair

University of Maryland

drake@umd.edu

Raul Sanchez, Vice Chair

Universidad Carlos III

raul.sanchez@uc3m.es

Keith Burrell (2018 recipient)

General Atomics

burrell@fusion.gat.com

Gilbert “Rip” Collins

University of Rochester

gcollins@lle.rochester.edu

Yu Lin

Auburn University

ylin@physics.auburn.edu

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Scott Parker, Chair

University of Colorado

sparker@colorado.edu

Ahmed Diallo, Vice Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

adiallo@pppl.gov

Radha Bahukutumbi

University of Rochester

radha@lle.rochester.edu

Todd Evans (2018 recipient)

General Atomics

evans@fusion.gat.com

Francesca Turco

Columbia University

ft2215@columbia.edu

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Alexey Arefiev, Chair

University of California, San Diego

aarefiev@ucsd.edu

Lorin Matthews, Vice Chair

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Stewart Prager

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

sprager@pppl.gov

Eric Held

Utah State University/UWisc

eheld@cc.usu.edu

Ping Zhu

University of Science and Technology of China

pzhu@ustc.edu.cn

Back to Top

Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

Dustin Froula, Chair

University of Rochester

dustin.froula@rochester.edu

Félice Albert, Vice Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

albert6@llnl.gov

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

bchapman@wisc.edu

Frederico Fiuza (2018 Recipient)

Stanford University

fiuza@slac.standord.edu

Matthew Stoneking

Lawrence University

matthew.r.stoneking@lawrence.edu

Back to Top

Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)

Paul Keiter, Chair

University of Michigan

pkeiter@umich.edu

Amy Keesee, Vice Chair

University of New Hampshire

amy.keesee@unh.edu

Félice Albert (2017 Recipient)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

albert6@llnl.gov

Stephanie Diem

ORNL/University of Wisconsin

diems@fusion.gat.com

Carl Sovinec, Past Chair

University of Wisconsin

csovinec@cae.wisc.edu

Back to Top

Landau-Spitzer Award

Emilia Solano, EPS Chair

CIEMAT, Spain

emilia.solano@ciemat.es

Bill Heidbrink, DPP Vice Chair

University of California, Irvine

wwheidbr@uci.edu

Anthony Bell (EPS)

University of Oxford

tony.bell@physics.ox.ac.uk

Vladimir Tikhonchuk (EPS)

University of Bordeaux, France

tikhonchuk@ubordeaux.fr

Carlos Romero Talamás (DPP)

University of Maryland

romero@umbc.edu

Li-Jen Chen (DPP)

NASA Goodard Space Flight Center

lijen@mailaps.org

Back to Top