logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2017

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Milwaukee, Wisconsin Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
Nominating Committee
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics
Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research
Landau-Spitzer Award

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Name Association Email

John Cary, Chair Elect

University of Colorado

cary@colorado.edu

Brian J. Albright

Los Alamos National Laboratory

balbright@lanl.gov

David Anderson

University of Wisconsin

dtanders@facstaff.wisc.edu

Venkatt Ayyaswamy

University of California, Merced

vayyaswamy@ucmerced.edu

Jason Bates

Naval Research Laboratory

jason.bates@nrl.navy.mil

Kris Beckwith

Tech-X Corporation

beckwith@txcorp.com

Alain Brizard

Saint Michael's College

abrizard@smcvt.edu

John Canik

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

canikjm@ornl.gov

Mark Cappelli

Stanford University

cap@stanford.edu

Troy Carter

University of California, Los Angeles

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Hui Chen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

chen33@llnl.gov

Christine Coverdale

Sandia National Laboratories

cacover@sandia.gov

James Danielson

University of California, San Diego

rdanielson@ucsd.edu

Richard Dendy (EPS)

University of Warwick, UK

r.dendy@warwick.ac.uk

Arturo Dominguez

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

arturod@pppl.gov

John Foster

University of Michigan

jefoster@umich.edu

Mark Golkowski

University of Colorado, Denver

mark.golkowski@ucdenver.edu

Greg Hammett

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hammett@pppl.gov

Bill Heidbrink

University of California, Irvine

wwheidbr@uci.edu

Bernhard Hidding

University of Strathclyde, UK

bernhard.hidding@strath.ac.uk

Laura Berzak Hopkins

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hopkins31@llnl.gov

Scott Hsu

Los Alamos National Laboratory

scotthsu@lanl.gov

Valerie Izzo

General Atomics

izzo@fusion.gat.com

Amy Keesee

West Virginia University

amy.keesee@mail.wvu.edu

Mitsuru Kikuchi (AAPPS-DPP)

National Inst for Quantum & Radiological Science & Technology, Japan

kikuchi.mitsuru@gst.go.jp

Alex Likhanskii

Applied Materials, Incorporated

alexander_likhanskii@amat.com

Nuno Loureiro

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

nflour@mit.edu

Ryan McBride

University of Michigan

mcbrider@umich.edu

Jonathan Menard

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

jmenard@pppl.gov

Howard Milchberg

University of Maryland

milch@umd.edu

Tobin Munsat

University of Colorado, Boulder

tobin.munsat@colorado.edu

James Myra

Lodestar Corporation

jrmyra@lodestar.com

David E. Newman, Vice Chair

University of Alaska

denewman@alaska.edu

Hong Qin

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hongqin@pppl.gov

Chuang Ren

University of Rochester

cren@lle.rochester.edu

Alla Safranova

University of Nevada, Reno

alla@unr.edu

Carl Schroeder

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

cbschroeder@lbl.gov

Earl Scime, Chair

West Virginia University

escime@wvu.edu

Charles Seyler

Cornell University

ces7@cornell.edu

Steve Shannon

North Carolina State University

scshannon@ncsu.edu

Uri Shumlak

University of Washington

shumlak@u.washington.edu

Dan Sinars

Sandia National Laboratories

dbsinar@sandia.gov

Vladimir Sotnikov

Air Force Research Laboratory

vladimir.sotnikov.1@us.af.mil

Carl Sovinec, Local Coordinator

University of Wisconsin

sovinec@engr.wisc.edu

Bhuvana Srinivasan

Virginia Tech

srinbhu@vt.edu

Paul Terry

University of Wisconsin

pwterry@uwisc.edu

Mingsheng Wei

General Atomics

weims@fusion.gat.com

Ellen Zweibel

University of Wisconsin

zweibel@astro.wisc.edu

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Milwaukee, Wisconsin Annual Meeting

Carl Sovinec

University of Wisconsin

sovinec@engr.wisc.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

512-694-2320

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Eve Stenson, Chair

Max Planck Institute for Plasma Physics, Germany

evs@ipp.mpg.de

Elizabeth Merritt, Vice Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

emerritt@lanl.gov

Richard Magee, Past Chair

Tri Alpha Energy Inc.

rmagee@trialphaenergy.com

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Lorin Matthews, Chair

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Stephanie Hansen, Vice Chair

Sandia National Laboratories

sbhanse@sandia.gov

Félicie Albert

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

albert6@llnl.gov

Nathaniel Ferraro

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

nferraro@pppl.gov

Shannon Greco

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

sgreco@pppl.gov

Paul Keiter

University of Michigan

pkeiter@umich.edu

Saskia Mordijck

College of William & Mary

saskia.mrdijck@gmail.com

Stephanie Sears

West Virginia University

ssears@mix.wvu.edu

Bhuvana Srinivasan

Virginia Tech

srinbhu@vt.edu

Mingsheng Wei

General Atomics

weims@fusion.gat.com

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Carl Sovinec, Chair

University of Wisconsin

csovinec@cae.wisc.edu

Paul Cassak, Vice Chair

West Virginia University

paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu

John Canik

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

canikjm@ornl.gov

John Cary, Exofficio

University of Colorado

cary@colorado.edu

Ami Dubois

Tri-Alpha Energy

amidubois25@gmail.com

David Maurer

Auburn University

dam0014@auburn.edu

Jason Myatt

University of Rochester

jmya@lle.rochester.edu

François Waelbroeck, Past Chair

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

David Newman, Chair

University of Alaska

denewman@alaska.edu

Christina Back

General Atomics christina.back@ga.com
Gilbert Collins University of Rochester g.w.collins@rochester.edu
Michael Desjarlais Sandia National Labs mpdesja@sandia.gov
Joel Fajans University of California, Berkeley joel@physics.berkeley.edu
Gurudas Ganguli Naval Research Laboratory guru.ganguli@nrl.navy.mil
Gail Glendinning Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory glendinning1@llnl.gov
Chris Hegna University of Wisconsin cchegna@wisc.edu
Amanda Hubbard Massachusetts Institute of Technology hubbard@psfc.mit.edu
Robert Kaita Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory kaita@pppl.gov
Yu Lin Auburn University ylin@physics.auburn.edu
George McKee General Atomics mckee@fusion.gat.com
Scott Robertson University of Colorado

scott.robertson@colorado.edu

 

Back to Top

Publication Committee

Steven Sabbagh, Chair

Columbia University/PPPL

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Julian Schulze, Vice Chair

Ruhr University Bochum, Germany

schulze@aept.rub.de

Peter Gary, Past Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

pgary@lanl.gov

Li-Jen Chen

University of New Hampshire

lijen@mailaps.org

Greg Hammett

Princeton University

hammett@princeton.edu

Valerie Izzo

University of California, San Diego

izzo@fusio.gat.com

John Mandrekas

U.S. Department of Energy

john.mandrekas@science.doe.gov

Chung-Sang Ng

University of Alaska

chung-sang.ng@gi.alaska.edu

Back to Top

Education and Outreach Committee

Arturo Dominguez, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

arturod@pppl.gov

Paul Miller, Past Chair

West Virginia University

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

leeaberry223@gmail.com

Cami Collins

University of California, Irvine

collinscs@fusion.gat.com

Donald Correll

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

dcorrell@llnl.gov

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mark.koepke@mail.wvu.edu

Rick Lee

General Atomics

rick.lee@gat.com

Paul Rivenberg

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

rivenberg@psfc.mit.edu

Rebecca Thompson

American Physical Society

sciencegirl01@gmail.com

Jeremiah Williams

Wittenberg University

jwilliams@wittenberg.edu

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Warren Mori, Representative

University of California, Los Angeles

mori@physics.ucla.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Siegfried Glenzer, Chair

Stanford University

glenzer@slac.stanford.edu

Denise Hinkel, Vice Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Lab

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Chris Hegna

University of Wisconsin

hegna@cae.wisc.edu

Linda Vahala (appointed by APS)

Old Dominion University

lvahala@odu.edu

Dennis Whyte

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whyte@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Fred Skiff, Chair

University of Iowa

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Stewart Prager, Vice Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

sprager@pppl.gov

Catherine Fiore

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

fiore@psfc.mit.edu

David Hammer

Cornell University

dah5@cornell.edu

Ellen Zweibel (2016 recipient)

University of Wisconsin

zweibel@astro.wisc.edu

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Scott Baalrud, Chair

University of Iowa

scott-baalrud@uiowa.edu

Walter Gekelman, Vice Chair

University of California, Los Angeles

gekelman@physics.ucla.edu

James Bailey (2016 recipient)

Sandia National Laboratories

jebaile@sandia.gov

Marilyn Schneider

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

schneider5@llnl.gov

Francesca Turco

Columbia University

ft2215@columbia.edu

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Debra Callahan, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

dcallahan@llnl.gov

Hye-Sook Park, Vice Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

park1@llnl.gov

Michael Brown

Swarthmore College

doc@swarthmore.edu

Daniel Den Hartog

University of Wisconsin

djdenhar@wisc.edu

David Go

Notre Dame University

dgo@nd.edu

Back to Top

Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

Melissa Douglas, Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Cameron Geddes, Vice Chair

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

cgrgeddes@lbl.gov

Nuno Loureiro

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

nflour@mit.edu

Tammy Ma (2016 Recipient)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

ma8@llnl.gov

Alec Thomas

University of Michigan

agrt@umich.edu

Back to Top

Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)

Carl Sovinec, Chair

University of Wisconsin

csovinec@cae.wisc.edu

Paul Keiter, Vice Chair

University of Michigan

pkeiter@umich.edu

Laura Robin Benedetti

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

benedetti3@llnl.gov

Yu Lin, Past Chair

Auburn University

linyu01@auburn.edu

Anne White (2014 Recipient)

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whitea@mit.edu

Back to Top