logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2007

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Orlando, Florida Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominating Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Ian Hutchinson, Chair

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

617-253-8760

hutch@psfc.mit.edu

Steven Allen

LLNL/General Atomics

 

allens@fusion.gat.com

Amitava Bhattacharjee

University of New Hampshire

 

amitava.bhattacharjee@unh.edu

Elena Belova

PPPL

 

ebelova@pppl.gov

Robert Bingham

Rutherford Laboratory, United Kingdom (EPS)

 

r.bingham@rl.ac.uk

Cynthia Cattell

University of Minnesota

 

cattell@fields.space.umn.edu

Troy Carter

University of California, Los Angeles

 

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Vincent Chan

General Atomics

 

chanv@fusion.gat.com

Christine Coverdale

Sandia National Labs

 

cacover@sandia.gov

Philip Efthimion

PPPL

 

pefthimion@pppl.gov

Eduardo Fernandez

Eckerd College

 

fernane@eckerd.edu

Darren Garnier

Columbia University

 

garnier@psfc.mit.edu

Stanley Kaye

PPPL

 

kaye@pppl.gov

Robert Kirkwood

LLNL

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Yue Ying Lau

University of Michigan

 

yylau@umich.edu

Giovanni Lapenta

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

lapenta@lanl.gov

Rick Lee

General Atomics

 

leer@fusion.gat.com

Wim Leemans

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

 

wpleemans@lbl.gov

Baruch Levush

Naval Research Laboratory

 

levush@mmace.nrl.navy.mil

Timothy Luce

General Atomics

 

luce@fusion.gat.com

Lorin Matthews

Baylor University

 

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

William Nevins

LLNL

 

nevins@llnl.gov

David E. Newman

University of Alaska

 

ffden@uaf.edu

David L. Newman

University of Colorado

 

david.newman@colorado.edu

Hong Qin

Princeton University

 

hongqin@princeton.edu

David Ruzic

University of Illinois

 

druzic@uiuc.edu

Craig Sangster

University of Rochester

 

csan@lle.rochester.edu

Fred Skiff

Univeristy of Iowa

 

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Clifford Surko

University of California, San Diego

 

csurko@ucsd.edu

Joseph Talmadge

University of Wisconsin

 

talmadge@facstaff.wisc.edu

Kazuo Tanaka

Osaka University, Japan (JSPS)

 

katanaka@ile.osaka-u.ac.jp

James Terry

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

terry@psfc.mit.edu

Ethan Vishniac

Johns Hopkins University

 

ethan@pha.jhu.edu

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

 

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Douglas Wilson

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

dcw@lanl.gov

Simon Woodruff

University of Washington

 

woodruff@aa.washington.edu

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Orlando, Florida Annual Meeting:

Martin Greenwald

MIT

617-253-6053

g@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

University of Texas

512-471-4378

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Troy Carter, Chair

University of California, Los Angeles

310-825-4770

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Jill Foley

PPPL

 

jfoley@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Linda Sugiyama, Chair

MIT

617-253-8538

sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

Debbie Callahan-Miller

LLNL

 

dcallahan@llnl.gov

Elizabeth Foley

Princeton University

 

efoley@princeton.edu

Gail Glendinning

LLNL

 

glendinning1@llnl.gov

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

 

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Sarah Messer

Naval Research Laboratory

 

messer@ccs.nrl.navy.mil

David Newman

University of Alaska

 

ffden@uaf.edu

Mary Ann Sweeney

Sandia National Labs

 

masween@sandia.gov

Linda Vahala

Old Dominion University

 

lvahala@odu.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

Jim Van Dam, Chair

University of Texas

512-471-1322

vandam@physics.utexas.edu

Ian Hutchinson, Exofficio

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

hutch@psfc.mit.edu

Tom Cowan

University of Nevada, Reno

 

cowan@physics.unr.edu

Richard Hawryluk

PPPL

 

rhawryluk@pppl.gov

Mark Haynes

General Atomic

 

mark.haynes@ga.com

Steve Obenschain

Naval Research Laboratory

 

steveo@this.nrl.navy.mil

Earl Scime

West Virginia University

 

escime@wvu.edu

Dan Winske

LANL

 

winske@lanl.gov

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Amitava Bhattacharjee, Chair

University of New Hampshire

603-862-2507

amitava.bhattacharjee@unh.edu

Liu Chen

University of California, Irvine

liuchen@uci.edu

Nathaniel Fisch

Princeton University

fisch@princeton.edu

Valery Godyak

OSRAM Sylvania

valery.godyak@sylvania.com

Paulett Liewer

Jet Propulsion Lab

paulett.liewer@jpl.nasa.gov

John Lindl

LLNL

lindl1@llnl.gov

Philip Morrison

University of Texas

morrison@physics.utexas.edu

Miklos Porkolab

MIT

porkolab@psfc.mit.edu

Edward Strait

General Atomics

strait@fusion.gat.com

Back to Top

Publication Committee

S. Peter Gary, Chair

LANL

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Bruce Cohen

LLNL

bcohen@llnl.gov

Steve Eckstrand

U.S. Department of Energy

steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov

Martin Goldman

University of Colorado

goldman@spot.colorado.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Bruce Langdon

LLNL

blangdon@llnl.gov

David S. Montgomery

LANL

montgomery@lanl.gov

Linda Sugiyama

MIT

Sugiyama@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Education & Outreach Committee

Rick Lee, Chair

General Atomics

858-455-3331

rick.lee@gat.com

Charles Greenfield, Vice Chair

General Atomics

chuck.greenfield@gat.com

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Lab

berryla@ornl.gov

Michael Brown

Swarthmore College

doc@swarthmore.edu

Don Correll

LLNL

correll@llnl.gov

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Lab

mdouglas@lanl.gov

David Newman

University of Alaska

ffden@uaf.edu

Andrew Post-Zwicker

PPPL

azwicker@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Clifford Surko, Chair

UCSD

858-534-6880

csurko@ucsd.edu

Tony Taylor, Vice Chair

General Atomics

taylor@fusion.gat.com

Cris Barnes

LANL

cbarnes@lanl.gov

Ron Gilgenbach

University of Michigan

rongilg@umich.edu

Denise Hinkel (appointed by APS)

LLNL

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Mark Koepke, Representative

West Virginia University

304-293-3422, Ext, 1456

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Frederick Skiff, Associate Representative

University of Iowa

319-335-0564

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Back to Top

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Michael Mauel, Chair

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

George Neilson, Vice-Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

hneilson@pppl.gov

Chan Joshi (2006 recipient)

University of California, Irvine

joshi@ee.ucla.edu

Thomas Mehlhorn

Sandia National Laboratories

tamehlh@sandia.gov

Scott Parker

University of Colorado

sparker@colorado.edu

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Nermin Uckan, Chair

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

uckanna@ornl.gov

John Sarff, Vice-Chair

University of Wisconsin

jssarff@facstaff.wisc.edu

Janardhan Manickam

Princeton Plamsa Physics Laboratory

manickam@theory.pppl.gov

Uri Shumlak

University of Washington

shumlak@aa.washington.edu

Max Tabak (2006 recipient)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

tabak1@llnl.gov

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

John Goree, Chair

University of Iowa

john-goree@uiowa.edu

Thomas O'Neil, Vice-Chair

University of California, San Diego

toneil@ucsd.edu

Mary Ann Sweeney

Sandia National Laboratories

masween@sandia.gov

Don Umstadter

University of Nebraska

dpu@umich.edu

Jonathan Wurtele (2006 Advisor)

University of California, Berkeley

wurtele@berkeley.edu

Back to Top