logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2011

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinators for Salt Lake City, Utah Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominating Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Cary Forest  Chair

University of Wisconsin

608-263-0486

cbforest@wisc.edu

Steve Allen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/GA

 

allens@fusion.gat.com

David Anderson

University of Wisconsin

 

dtanders@wisc.edu

Riccardo Betti

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory /University of Rochester

 

betti@me.rochester.edu

Ted Biewer

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

 

biewertm@ornl.gov

Mike Brown

Swarthmore College

 

mbrown3@swarthmore.edu

Troy Carter

University of California, Los Angeles

 

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Li-Jen Chen

University of New Hampshire

 

lijen@mailaps.org

James Danielson

University of California, San Diego

 

jdan@physics.ucsd.edu

Bill Daughton

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

daughton@lanl.gov

Richard Dendy

University of Warwick, UK (EPS)

 

r.dendy@warwick.ac.uk

Andris Dimits

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

dimits1@llnl.gov

Wexing Ding

University of California, Los Angeles

 

wding@wisc.edu

Bill Dorland

University of Maryland

 

bdorland@umd.edu

Fatima Ebrahimi

University of New Hampshire

 

fatima.ebrahimi@unh.edu

Victor Granatstein

University of Maryland

 

vlg@glue.umd.edu

 

 

 

 

Eric Held

Utah State University

 

eric.held@usu.edu

Serguei Kalmykov

University of Nebraska

 

skalmykov2@unlnotes.unl.edu

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Karl Krushelnick

University of Michigan

 

kmkr@umich.edu

Mark Kushner

University of Michigan

 

mjkush@umich.edu

George Kyrala

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

gak@lanl.gov

Carolyn Kuranz

University of Michigan

 

ckuranz@umich.edu

Mike Mauel

Columbia University

 

mem4@columbia.edu

Jonathan Menard

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

jmenard@pppl.gov

Paul Miller

West Virginia University

 

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

Steve Obenschain

Naval Research Laboratory

 

steve.obenschain@nrl.navy.mil

Pat Pedrow

Washington State University

 

pedrow@eecs.wsu.edu

Hye-Sook Park

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

park1@llnl.gov

Jim Reardon

University of Wisconsin

 

jcreardon@wisc.edu

Greg Rochau

Sandia National Laboratories

 

garocha@sandia.gov

Raul Sanchez

Oak Ridge National Laboratory /University of Madrid

 

lraul.sanchez@gmail.com

Craig Sangster

University of Rochester

 

csan@lle.rochester.edu

Mamiko Sasao

Tohoku University, Japan (JSPF)

 

mamiko.sasao@qse.tohoku.ac.jp

Vlad Soukhanovski

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

vlad@llnl.gov

Steve Spangler

University of Iowa

 

steven-spangler@uiowa.edu

Fred Skiff

University of Iowa

 

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Ross Spencer

Brigham Young University

 

spencerr@maxwell.byu.edu

Maxim Umansky

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

umansky1@llnl.gov

Mickey Wade

General Atomics

 

wade@fusion.gat.com

Andrew Ware

University of Montana

 

andrew.ware@umontana.edu

Amy Wendt

University of Wisconsin

 

wendt@engr.wisc.edu

Anne White

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

whitea@mit.edu

John Wurtele

University of California, Berkeley

 

wurtele@berkeley.edu

Masaaki Yamada

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

myamada@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinators for Salt Lake City, Utah Annual Meeting:

Eric Held

Utah State University

435-797-7166

eric.held@usu.edu

Ross Spencer

Brigham Young University

801-422-2341

spencerr@maxwell.byu.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

 

512-694-2320

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Dylan Brennan, Chair

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Tim Tharp, Vice-Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

ttharp@pppl.gov

Tim Gray, Past Chair

Swarthmore College

 

tgray1@swarthmore.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Mary Ann Sweeney, Chair

Sandia National Laboratories

505-845-7307

masween@sandia.gov

Francesca Bombarda

CR ENEA-Frascati, Italy/MIT

bombarda@psfc.mit.edu

Vincent Chan

General Atomics

chanv@fusion.gat.com

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Laboratory

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Paul Drake

University of Michigan

rpdrake@umich.edu

Fatima Ebrahimi

University of Wisconsin

febrahimi@wisc.edu

Denise Hinkel

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Amy Keesee

West Virginia University

amy.keesee@mail.wvu.edu

Lorin Matthews

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

David Hill, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/General Atomics

 

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

William Amatucci

Naval Research Laboratory

 

amatucci@ccf.nrl.navy.mil

Cary Forest, Exofficio

University of Wisconsin

 

cbforest@wisc.edu

Brett Chapman

University of Wisconsin

 

bchapman@wisc.edu

Mark Haynes

General Atomics

 

mark.haynes.ga.com

Robert Kirkwood

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Lin Yin

Los Alamos National Laboratory

 

lyin@lanl.gov

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Fred Skiff, Chair

University of Iowa

608-263-0486

frederick-skiff@uiowa.edu

Ronald Davidson

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

rdavidson@pppl.gov

Christopher Deeney

National Nuclear Security Administration

chris.deeney@nnsa.doe.gov

Denise Hinkel

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Amanda Hubbard

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

hubbard@psfc.mit.edu

Tim Luce

General Atomics

luce@fusion.gat.com

Howard Milchberg

University of Maryland

milch@umd.edu

Yevgeny Raitses

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

yraitses@pppl.gov

Barrett Rogers

Dartmouth College

barrett.rogers@dartmouth.edu

Reiner Stenzel

University of California, Los Angeles

stenzel@physics.ucla.edu

Back to Top

Publication Committee

Peter Gary, Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Bruce Cohen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

bcohen@llnl.gov

Steve Eckstrand

U.S. Department of Energy

steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov

Catherine Fiore

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

fiore@psfc.mit.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Chung-Sang Ng

University of Alaska

chung-sang.ng@gi.alaska.edu

Steven Sabbagh

Columbia University/PPPL

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Michael Shay

University of Delaware

shay@physics.udel.edu

Back to Top

Education and Outreach Committee

Paul Miller, Chair

West Virginia University

858-455-3331

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Lab

berryla@ornl.gov

Dylan Brennan

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Don Correll

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

correll@llnl.gov

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Lab

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Rick Lee, Past Chair

General Atomics

rick.lee@gat.com

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Paul Rivenberg

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

rivenberg@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

John Cary, Chair

University of Colorado

 

cary@colorado.edu

John Sarff, Vice-Chair

University of Wisconsin

jssarff@wisc.edu

Christina Back

General Atomics

backca@fusion.gat.com

Lee Berry (appointed by APS)

Oak Ridge National Laboratory

berryla@ornl.gov

Igor Kaganovich

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ikaganov@pppl.gov

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Mark Koepke, Representative

West Virginia University

304-293-3422, Ext, 1456

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Robert Merlino, Associate Representative

University of Iowa

 

robert-merlino@uiowa.edu

Back to Top

Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP Award)

Mary Ann Sweeney, Chair

Sandia National Laboratories

masween@sandia.gov

David Meyerhofer, Vice Chair

University of Rochester

ddm@lle.rochester.edu

Catherine Fiore, Past Chair

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

fiore@psfc.mit.edu

Julie Enery

NASA-Goddard/University of Maryland

mcenery@milkyway.gsfc.nasa.gov

Lin Yin (2008 recipient)

Los Alamos National Laboratory

lyin@lanl.gov

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Stephen Obenschain, Chair

Naval Research Laboratory

steve.obenschain@nrl.navy.mil

Dale Meade, Vice-Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

dmeade@pppl.gov

Paul Drake

University of Michigan

rpdrake@umich.edu

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mkoepke@wvu.edu

James Drake (2010 recipient)

University of Maryland

drake@umd.edu

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Michael Mauel, Chair

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

Troy Carter, Vice-Chair

University of California, Los Angeles

tcarter@physics.ucla.edu

Richard Berger

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

berger5@llnl.gov

Carl Sovinec

University of Wisconsin

sovinec@engr.wisc.edu

Wim Leemans (2010 recipient)

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

wpleemans@lbl.gov

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Ambrogio Fasoli, Chair

CRPP-EPFL, Switzerland

ambrogio.fasoli@epfl.ch

Mark Gilmore, Vice-Chair

University of New Mexico

gilmore@ece.unm.edu

Allen Boozer (2010 Advisor)

Columbia University

ahb17@columbia.edu

Wojciech Rozmus

University of Alberta

rozmus@phys.ualberta.ca

Jay Kesner

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

kesner@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top