logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Appointed Committee 2013

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting
Local Arrangements Coordinator for Denver, Colorado Annual Meeting
DPP Administrator
Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists
Committee on Women in Plasma Physics
Public Information Committee
Fellowship Committee
Publication Committee
Education and Outreach Committee
Nominating Committee
International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16
James Clerk Maxwell Prize
The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics
Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Program Committee for the Annual Meeting

Mark Koepke,  Chair

West Virginia University

 

mark.koepke@mail.wvu.edu

Stuart Bale

University of California, Berkeley

 

bale@ssl.berkeley.edu

Paul Bernhardt

Naval Research Laboratory

 

bern@ppd.nrl.navy.mil

Riccardo Betti

University of Rochester

 

betti@me.rochester.edu

Boris Breizman

University of Texas

 

breizman@mail.utexas.edu

John Booske

University of Wisconsin

 

booske@engr.wisc.edu

Paul Cassak

West Virginia University

 

paul.cassak@mail.wvu.edu

Richard Dendy

University of Warwick, United Kingdom (EPS)

 

r.dendy@warwick.ac.uk

Daniel Den Hartog

University of Wisconsin

 

djdenhar@wisc.edu

James Eden

University of Illinois

 

jgeden@illinois.edu

Alex Friedman

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

afriedman@lbl.gov

Atsushi Fukuyama (JSPF)

Kyoto University, Japan

 

fukuyama@nucleng.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Ronald Gilgenbach

University of Michigan

 

rongilg@umich.edu

Nikolai Gorelenkov

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

ngorelen@pppl.gov

Chuck Greenfield

General Atomics

 

greenfield@fusion.gat.com

David Knudsen

University of Calgary, Canada

 

knudsen@ucalgary.ca

Karl Krushelnick

University of Michigan

 

kmkr@umich.edu

Nino Landen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

landen1@llnl.gov

Wim Leemans

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

 

wpleemans@lbl.gov

Fred Levinton

Nova Photonics, Inc.

 

flevinton@novaphotonics.com

Charles Lasnier

General Atomics

 

lasnier@llnl.gov

Chikang Li

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

li@psfc.mit.edu

Paul Miller

West Virginia University

 

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

David E. Newman

University of Alaska

 

denewman@alaska.edu

Christoph Niemann

University of California, Los Angeles

 

niemann@ee.ucla.edu

Felix Parra

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

fparra@mit.edu

Leanne Pitchford

CNRS/Université Paul Sabatier

 

leanne.pitchford@laplace.univ-tlse.fr

Roger Raman

University of Washington

 

rraman@pppl.gov

Allan Reiman

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

areiman@pppl.gov

John Rice

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

rice@psfc.mit.edu

Kevin Ronald

University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom

 

k.ronald@strath.ac.uk

Marlene Rosenberg

University of California, San Diego

 

rosenberg@ecepops.ucsd.edu

Dmitri Ryutov

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

ryutov1@llnl.gov

Steven Sabbagh

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

sabbagh@pppl.gov

John Sethian

Naval Research Laboratory

 

john.sethian@nrl.navy.mil

Daniel Sinars Sandia National Laboratories   dbsinar@sandia.gov

Fred Skiff

University of Iowa

 

frederick.skiff@iowa.edu

Masaharu Shiratani

Kyushu University, Japan (JSPF)

 

siratani@ed.kyushu-u.ac.jp

Philip Snyder

General Atomics

 

snyder@fusion.gat.com

Zoltan Sternovsky

University of Colorado

 

zoltan.sternovsky@lasp.colorado.edu

Jam Stone

Princeton University

 

jstone@astro.princeton.edu

Stephen Vincena University of California, Los Angeles   vincena@physics.ucla.edu

Scott Wilks

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

wilks1@llnl.gov

Back to Top

Local Arrangements Coordinator for Denver, Colorado Annual Meeting

Zoltan Sternovsky

University of Colorado

zoltan.sternovsky@lasp.colorado.edu

Back to Top

DPP Administrator

Saralyn Stewart

 

512-694-2320

stewart@physics.utexas.edu

Committee on Concerns of Junior Scientists

Tim Tharp, Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

 

ttharp@pppl.gov

Richard Magee, Vice-Chair

West Virginia University

 

richard.magee@mail.wvu.edu

Dylan Brennan, Past Chair

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Back to Top

Committee on Women in Plasma Physics

Arati Dasgupta, Chair

Naval Research Laboratory

 

arati.dasgupta@nrl.navy.mil

Angela Douglass

Ouochita Baptist University

douglassa@obu.edu

Fatima Ebrahimi

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ebrahimi@pppl.gov

Stephanie Hansen

Sandia National Laboratories

stephanie.b.hansen@gmail.com

Denise Hinkel

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hinkel1@llnl.gov

Paul Keiter

University of Michigan

pkeiter@umich.edu

Lorin Matthews

Baylor University

lorin_matthews@baylor.edu

Francesca Poli

Princeton Plasma Physics Loboratory

fpoli@pppl.gov

Mary Ann Sweeney

Sandia National Laboratories

505-845-7307

masween@sandia.gov

Back to Top

Public Information Committee

David Hill, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/General Atomics

 

hilldn@fusion.gat.com

Mark Haynes

Concordia Power

 

haynes@concordiapower.us

Mark Koepke, Exofficio

 

West Virginia University

 

mark.koepke@mail.wvu.edu

David Maurer

Auburn University

 

dam0014@auburn.edu

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

 

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Anne White

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

 

whitea@psfc.mit.edu

Simon Woodruff

Woodruff Scientific

 

simon@woodruffscientific.com

Back to Top

Fellowship Committee

Riccardo Betti, Chair

University of Rochester

betti@me.rochester.edu

Johan Frenje

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

jfrenje@psfc.mit.edu

Steven Sabbagh

Columbia University

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Chris Hegna

University of Wisconsin

hegna@cae.wisc.edu

Denise Hinkel

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

hinkel1@llnl.gov

James Drake

University of Maryland

drake@umd.edu

Warren Mori

University of California, Los Angeles

mori@physics.ucla.edu

Igor Kaganovich

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

ikaganov@pppl.gov

Farhat Beg

University of California, San Diego

fbeg@ucsd.edu

Todd Evans

General Atomics

evans@fusion.gat.com

Back to Top

Publication Committee

Peter Gary, Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

505-667-3807

pgary@lanl.gov

Li-Jen Chen

University of New Hampshire

lijen@mailaps.org

Bruce Cohen

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

bcohen@llnl.gov

Steve Eckstrand

U.S. Department of Energy

Steve.eckstrand@science.doe.gov

Catherine Fiore

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

fiore@psfc.mit.edu

Noah Hershkowitz

University of Wisconsin

hershkowitz@engr.wisc.edu

Chung-Sang Ng

University of Alaska

chung-sang.ng@gi.alaska.edu

Steven Sabbagh

Columbia University/PPPL

sabbagh@pppl.gov

Back to Top

Education and Outreach Committee

Paul Miller, Chair

West Virginia University

858-455-3331

paul.miller@mail.wvu.edu

Lee Berry

Oak Ridge National Lab

berryla@ornl.gov

Dylan Brennan

University of Tulsa

 

dylan-brennan@utulsa.edu

Donald Correll

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

correll@llnl.gov

Melissa Douglas

Los Alamos National Lab

mdouglas@lanl.gov

Rick Lee, Past Chair

General Atomics

rick.lee@gat.com

Mark Koepke

West Virginia University

mkoepke@wvu.edu

Paul Rivenberg

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

rivenberg@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

Nominating Committee

Robert Kirkwood, Chair

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

 

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

Robert Kaita, Vice-Chair

Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory

kaita@pppl.gov

Debra Callahan (appointed by APS)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

dcallahan@llnl.gov

François Waelbroeck

University of Texas

flw@mail.utexas.edu

Dennis Whyte

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

whyte@psfc.mit.edu

Back to Top

International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, Commission 16

Robert Merlino, Representative

University of Iowa

                                

robert-merlino@uiowa.edu

Greg Hebner, Associate Representative

Sandia National Laboratories

 

gahebne@sandia.gov

James Clerk Maxwell Prize

Howard Milchberg, Chair

University of Maryland

milch@umd.edu

Ian Hutchinson, Vice-Chair

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

hutch@psfc.mit.edu

Liu Chen (2012 recipient)

University of California, Irvine

liuchen@uci.edu

John Goree

University of Iowa

john-goree@uiowa.edu

William Kruer

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

wkruer@mailaps.org

Back to Top

The John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Bill Daughton, Chair

Los Alamos National Laboratory

daughton@lanl.gov

Paul Terry, Vice-Chair

University of Wisconsin

pwterry@facstaff.wisc.edu

Adil Hassam

University of Maryland

hassam@umd.edu

Robert Kirkwood (2012 recipient)

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

kirkwood1@llnl.gov

John Moody

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

moody4@llnl.gov

Back to Top

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award in Plasma Physics

Todd Ditmire, Chair

University of Texas

tditmire@physics.utexas.edu

Mike Mauel, Vice-Chair

Columbia University

mauel@columbia.edu

Bradley Shadwick

University of Nebraska

bshadwick2@unl.edu

Howard Milchberg (2012 Advisor)

University of Maryland

milch@umd.edu

Craig Petty

General Atomics

petty@fusion.gat.com

Back to Top