logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations for 2014 Prize, Awards, APS DPP Fellowship, and Executive Committee Elections

Deadline: Tuesday, April 1, 2014

A prize or award presented by the American Physical Society is one of the highest honors a physicist can receive. The Division of Plasma Physics annually solicits nominations for one prize and two awards. The Katherine E. Weimer Award (a DPP award) selection committee solicits nominations every third year starting in 2002; skip two years between awards. The Landau-Spitzer Award (a APS and EPS award) selection committee solicits nominations every two years starting in 2012; skip one year between awards. Please take time to nominate exceptional DPP professional peers.

NOTE: The Landau-Spitzer Award deadline is March 25, 2014. The 2014 Award will have an emphasis on early career.

Anyone other than a member of the prize or award selection committee may submit one nomination or seconding letter for each prize or award in any given year.

Go to this Prize, Awards & Fellows page for APS Nomination Guidelines, and online Fellowship Nomination Instructions. Go to the Katherine Weimer page for information.

James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics
Note: Scroll down to Nomination and Selection Process.

Ian Hutchinson, Chair
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Email:  hutch@psfc.mit.edu

John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research
Note: Scroll down to Nomination and Selection Process.

Paul Terry, Chair
University of Wisconsin
Email:  pwterry@facstaff.wisc.edu

Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award
Note:  Nomination packages should include a copy of the candidate's thesis, or the URL address of the thesis.

Mike Mauel, Chair
Columbia University
Email:  mauel@columbia.edu

Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research
Note: Scroll down to Nomination and Selection Process.

Cary Forest, Chair
University of Wisconsin
Email: cbforest@wisc.edu

APS DPP Fellowship
Any active APS member is eligible for nomination and election to Fellowship. The Division of Plasma Physics strives to attain a diverse and global representation of Fellows from all areas of the plasma physics community. Fellowship nominations of women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

The deadline for Fellowship nominations is Tuesday, April 1, 2014.

Go to Nomination Instructions to submit a nomination for fellowship at the online fellowship program.

David Meyerhofer, Chair
University of Rochester
Email:  ddm@lle.rochester.edu

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Robert Kaita seeks candidates for Vice Chair, Councilor, and Executive Committee membership.
How to nominate:
*  The selection committee will consider names submitted by any DPP member.
*  Members nominated by at least 1% of DPP membership (25 members) will automatically be placed on the ballot.
*  Please submit your candidate's name and affiliation by Tuesday, April 1 to:

Robert Kaita, Chair
Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory
Email:  kaita@pppl.gov


Saralyn Stewart
DPP Administrator
Email:  stewart@physics.utexas.edu