logo American Physical Society - APS Physics

Upcoming Events
Katherine Weimer
katherine weimerIn 2001, the American Physical Society Division of Plasma Physics Executive Committee established the Katherine E. Weimer award to "recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in plasma science research by a woman physicist in the early years of her career."

Dr. Katherine E. Weimer was a pioneering research physicist at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory at Princeton University. She made many important contributions in magnetohydrodynamic equilibrium and stability theory for magnetically confined plasmas. Her obituary, written by John Johnson and John Greene, appeared in September 2001 in Physics Today. A list of her peer-reviewed journal publications may be found at Publications.

The Division of Plasma Physics has historically experienced significantly lower representation of women in its ranks compared to other divisions (7% vs. 11% in 2010). This award will play an important role in recognizing the contribution and potential of women in plasma science and will help to attract and retain women in this field.

Katherine E. Weimer Award for Women in Plasma Science

To recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in plasma science research by a woman physicist in the early years of her career. The award consists of $2,000, a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient and presented during the award ceremony at the Division of Plasma Physics Annual Meeting banquet, and a registration fee waiver. The recipient will be invited to give a talk at the Division of Plasma Physics annual meeting. The award is to be presented every three years beginning in 2002.

Establishment and Support:
The Plasma Science community and the APS Division of Plasma Physics established the award through joint sponsorship in 2001. It was named after Dr. Katherine E. Weimer, a pioneering woman physicist at the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory. Dr. Weimer made many important contributions to research advancements in magnetohydrodynamic equilibrium and stability theory for magnetically confined plasmas.

Rules and Eligibility:
This award shall be presented to a woman plasma scientist during the early years of her career (not later than ten years after the granting of the Ph.D. degree) for scientific achievements that demonstrate her potential as an outstanding plasma physicist. The award is open to any female plasma scientist. The nominee's Ph.D. must have been received within the ten-year period prior to the nomination deadline. Nominations are active for one selection cycle (three years).

The Award endowment was funded with $15,000 from DPP and $15,000 of generous contributions from friends and colleagues of Katherine Weimer and includes contributions from discretionary funds of fusion/plasma science research laboratories.

There is no provision for online submissions for the Weimer Award. Submissions must be emailed to the Selection Committee Chair. The standard APS Nomination Guidelines describe guidelines, but the submission instructions on the APS page should not be used for the DPP Weimer Award.

Past Recipients
2002: Professor Yu Lin of Auburn University “For creative and significant contributions to theoretical and computational research in nonlinear physics in the boundary layers of space plasmas.
2005: Dr. Elena Belova of Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory “For pioneering analytical and numerical contributions to the fundamental physics of magnetically confined plasmas.
2008: Dr. Lin Yin of Los Alamos National Laboratory “For major contributions to the understanding of instabilities and magnetic reconnection in space plasmas and of the physics of relativistic laser-plasma interactions through complex modeling.
2011: Dr. Yuan Ping of Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory “For pioneering experiments to explore the interaction of high-intensity laser light with matter, including the demonstration of amplification of ultrashort laser pulses by the resonant Raman scheme.
2014: Professor Anne White, Massachusetts Institute of Technology “For fundamental contributions to the understanding of turbulent transport in tokamaks through development and application of electron cyclotron emission diagnostics and insightful comparison of plasma fluctuations with gyrokinetic simulation predictions.”

2017 Selection Committee:
Carl Sovinec, Chair, University of Wisconsin, csovinec@cae.wisc.edu
Paul Keiter, Vice Chair, University of Michigan, pkeiter@umich.edu
Laura Robin Benedetti, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, benedetti3@llnl.gov
Yu Lin, Past Chair, Auburn University, linyu01@auburn.edu
Anne White (2014 Recipient), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, whitea@mit.edu